12 US Governors Support Banning Sales Of New Gas-Powered Vehicles By 2035

Reuters obtained a copy of an April 21 letter in which twelve state governors call on President Biden “to back ending sales of new gasoline-powered vehicles by 2035, a dramatic shift away from fossil fuels.” The chief executives (of California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island and Washington) urged Biden ““to ensure that all new passenger cars and light-duty trucks sold are zero-emission no later than 2035 with significant milestones along the way to monitor progress.”